Home All Groups Group Topic Archive Search About
Author
4 Apr 2006 4:26 PM
Paul C. Charleston
I am running Exchange 2003 Standard with about 25 users.  I am noticing
somehow some is using a non existant account to send mail out through my smtp
virtual server.  I have relaying turned off except to am IP local to my LAN. 
the account is postmas***@mydomain.com.  I have enabled sender and recipent
filters blocking mail to that address, but it is still not working.  I have
tested my server for open relay and it passes, it does not relay.

How could someone be able to do this?

Author
4 Apr 2006 4:31 PM
Paul Ford
Are the messages NDRs ?
Have a look at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/909005/en-us  or if you have
Small Business Server http://support.microsoft.com/kb/886208/en-us

Regards

Paul Ford
Edge IT Ltd

Show quote
"Paul C. Charleston" <PaulCCharles***@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message news:CFFFD210-25D4-4393-80EA-C86E2DC283B1@microsoft.com...
>I am running Exchange 2003 Standard with about 25 users.  I am noticing
> somehow some is using a non existant account to send mail out through my
> smtp
> virtual server.  I have relaying turned off except to am IP local to my
> LAN.
> the account is postmas***@mydomain.com.  I have enabled sender and
> recipent
> filters blocking mail to that address, but it is still not working.  I
> have
> tested my server for open relay and it passes, it does not relay.
>
> How could someone be able to do this?
Author
4 Apr 2006 6:36 PM
Paul C. Charleston
thanks that pointed me in the right direction.

Show quote
"Paul Ford" wrote:

> Are the messages NDRs ?
> Have a look at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/909005/en-us  or if you have
> Small Business Server http://support.microsoft.com/kb/886208/en-us
>
> Regards
>
> Paul Ford
> Edge IT Ltd
>
> "Paul C. Charleston" <PaulCCharles***@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
> message news:CFFFD210-25D4-4393-80EA-C86E2DC283B1@microsoft.com...
> >I am running Exchange 2003 Standard with about 25 users.  I am noticing
> > somehow some is using a non existant account to send mail out through my
> > smtp
> > virtual server.  I have relaying turned off except to am IP local to my
> > LAN.
> > the account is postmas***@mydomain.com.  I have enabled sender and
> > recipent
> > filters blocking mail to that address, but it is still not working.  I
> > have
> > tested my server for open relay and it passes, it does not relay.
> >
> > How could someone be able to do this?
>
>
>

AddThis Social Bookmark Button