Home All Groups Group Topic Archive Search About
Author
26 May 2006 2:32 PM
Jarryd
Hi,

According to the MS notes on Sender-ID, if a domain does not have an SPF
record set for its then messages claiming to be have been originated from it
is not rejected by the Sender-ID enabled SMTP server.  However, I have had
several domains fail to send messages to my server, and after disabling the
Sender-ID the messages came through OK.  The administrators of the
problematic domains claim not to have configured their DNS with SPF records.
Is it possible that Sender-ID will reject messages in spite of the rule?

TIA,

Jarryd

Author
26 May 2006 4:01 PM
Bharat Suneja
Check you Sender ID configuration in Global Settings.

--
Bharat Suneja
MCSE, MCT
www.zenprise.com
blog: www.suneja.com/blog
-----------------------------------


Show quote
"Jarryd" <j@n.c> wrote in message
news:e$pMGDNgGHA.5104@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
> Hi,
>
> According to the MS notes on Sender-ID, if a domain does not have an SPF
> record set for its then messages claiming to be have been originated from
> it is not rejected by the Sender-ID enabled SMTP server.  However, I have
> had several domains fail to send messages to my server, and after
> disabling the Sender-ID the messages came through OK.  The administrators
> of the problematic domains claim not to have configured their DNS with SPF
> records. Is it possible that Sender-ID will reject messages in spite of
> the rule?
>
> TIA,
>
> Jarryd
>
Author
26 May 2006 4:42 PM
Jarryd
How do you mean?  I have set the Sender-ID service to reject messages that
fail validation, forcing the sending server to generate an NDR.  I have
added my Exchange server to the list of servers that handle incoming mail
messages.  My server my ISPs relay server are the only servers that handles
incoming SMTP messages for my organisation and I have added both to the list
on the Message Delivery General tab.  What more do I need to do, apart from
enabling it on the SMTP virtual server which I had done but have had to
disable because of a problem I am having.

TIA,

Jarryd

Show quote
"Bharat Suneja" <bharat@nospam.org> wrote in message
news:%23bOTh2NgGHA.5088@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> Check you Sender ID configuration in Global Settings.
>
> --
> Bharat Suneja
> MCSE, MCT
> www.zenprise.com
> blog: www.suneja.com/blog
> -----------------------------------
>
>
> "Jarryd" <j@n.c> wrote in message
> news:e$pMGDNgGHA.5104@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>> Hi,
>>
>> According to the MS notes on Sender-ID, if a domain does not have an SPF
>> record set for its then messages claiming to be have been originated from
>> it is not rejected by the Sender-ID enabled SMTP server.  However, I have
>> had several domains fail to send messages to my server, and after
>> disabling the Sender-ID the messages came through OK.  The administrators
>> of the problematic domains claim not to have configured their DNS with
>> SPF records. Is it possible that Sender-ID will reject messages in spite
>> of the rule?
>>
>> TIA,
>>
>> Jarryd
>>
>
>

AddThis Social Bookmark Button